With the offer of free land, they came here to seek a better life. From German Russians, to Japanese and Ukranians who settled here in the early years, to the more recent arrivals from Mexico, South America and even Iran, the Quincy Valley is a melting pot of people in the sagebrush desert.
This story, this dream, diverse, yet so similar for all who came, is a story that we want to tell through the restoration of this home. THE CHURCH The Pioneer Church was also built in 1904 by German-Russian immigrants. It was an immigrant chapel open to all denominations for the first 3 years, then chartered as a Lutheran Church in 1907.
Samuel Reiman, builder of the House, was one of the carter members. The Church has a very unique barrel-vault embossed tin ceiling inside, with original woodwork, floor and bell tower.
The original location was a few blocks away and it was moved to this site in 2006, saved from deterioration by the St. Paul Lutheran Church in Quincy. Their congregation gifted the Church to the Historical Society in early 2008 and it re-opened its’ doors in 2010.
The Church is available for weddings, funerals, concerts and other faith-based and community events.
Tour and Exhibit Gallery: Open Saturdays 2:00 pm - 5:00 pm April through October or by appointment Free “Discover the Valley Tours”
Saturday afternoons May through September. Discover the Quincy Valley via these informative tours covering everything from agriculture to the Ice Age Floods.
Visit http://www.quincyvalley.org for a complete schedule of the tours.
Annual Wine Fest: Celebrate the Crush! Last Saturday in August each year. All proceeds fund educational programming.